1994 The McGill Senate approved the revised four-year Bachelor of Education Degree Program. 

1991 A. E. “Ted” Wall was appointed Dean of the Faculty of Education.

1991 A special issue of the McGill Journal of Education was published on the 25th anniversary of the Faculty of Education.

1993 The Seagram Sport Science Centre, within the Department of Physical Education, was officially opened.

1995 The Canada-South Africa Education Management Program, supported by the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), was established.  Also, the Partnership for School Improvement, a multiple stakeholder initiative in education, was established in cooperation with the Ministry of Education in Quebec, Quebec school boards and teacher unions.

1996 The Partnership for Leadership and Learning was created with the support of a major grant from the Bank of Nova Scotia.

1997 Concurrent Bachelor of Education degree programs were offered in collaboration with the Faculties of Music and Science.

1998 Dr. J. Andrew Large became the first holder in Canada of a named chair in Library and Information Studies: the “CN-Pratt-Grinstad Chair in Library and Information Studies”.

1998 Dr. Ratna Ghosh became the first female Dean of the Faculty. Dr. Ghosh was also the first Faculty Member to be elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (1999), and was decorated with the Order of Canada (2000) and the Order of Quebec (2005).

Close this window
McGill Faculty of Education
3700 McTavish Street, Montreal, Quebec
Tel: 514-398-7042 - Fax: 514-398-4679